Soccer Lovers Can Find Best Soccer Clubs in Australia

Soccer league in Australia also known as A-League founded in 2004 is a successor of National Soccer League (NSL) and is run by Football Federation Australia (FFA). The men’s soccer team of Australia has given a name, Socceroos. The league consists of eleven teams from which ten is from Australia and one is from New Zealand. The sponsorship program of league is held by Hyundai Motor Company and called Hyundai A-League.

Regular season runs from October to May and there are 27 rounds in which each team has to play three times with every other team. The soccer league consists of two trophies-premiers’ plate and A-League trophy. Top six teams of the regular season who scores the highest points enter the grand finale. Two highest scored points’ teams compete in the second week of grand final called semi final and the winner team is presented with premier’s plate. Soccer Clubs in Australia, The winner of the grand finale gets the place in National Champions League and is presented with the A-League Trophy.

The founding eight teams for the A-League were Adelaide United, Newcastle Jets, New Zealand Knights, Perth Glory, Central Coast Mariners, Melbourne Victory, Queensland Roar and Sydney FC.

The position of each six teams is determined by the highest points scored in the regular season. If two or more teams are on same level on points then following criteria is applied until one team is determined higher ranked.

• Lowest number of red cards collected
• Lowest number of yellow cards collected
• Highest goal difference
• Highest number of goal scored
• Highest number of goals scored in matches between the teams concerned
• Highest number of points collected in matches between the teams concerned
• Toss of a coin

The soccer league is currently contested with eleven teams- ten from Australia and one from New Zealand. Following are the current soccer clubs

• Adelaide United, Adelaide, South Australia
• Brisbane Roar, Brisbane, Queensland
• Central Coast Mariners, Gosford, New South Wales
• Melbourne City, Melbourne, Victoria
• Melbourne Victory, Melbourne Victoria
• Newcastle Jets, Newcastle, New South Wales
• Perth Glory, Perth, Western Australia
• Sydney FC, Sydney, New South Wales
• Wellington Phoenix, Wellington, New Zealand
• Western Sydney Wanderers, Sydney, New South Wales
• Western United, City of Windham, Victoria

You can check Australia Football Results of best top 10 teams:

Sr. No. Team Played Won
1 Perth Glory 27 18
2 Sydney FC 27 16
3 Melbourne Victory 27 15
4 Adelaide United 27 12
5 Melbourne City FC 27 11
6 Wellington Phoenix 27 11
7 Newcastle Jets 27 10
8 Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6
9 Brisbane Roar FC 27 4
10 Central Coast Marine 27 3

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *